Q Magazine

Hot Chip's Joe Goddard Announces New Solo Album 'Harmonics,' Shares Single 'Moments Die'

The record features a wide range of collaborators including Ibibio Sound Machine, Alabaster DePlume and former Wild Beasts frontman Hayden Thorpe.

joe goddard
Source: Louise Mason

'Harmonics' is out on July 12 via Domino.

Link to FacebookShare to XShare to Email

Hot Chip co-founder Joe Goddard has announced a new solo album. Harmonics, his third solo effort, will be out in July and feature a wide range of collaborators including Ibibio Sound Machine, Alabaster DePlume, Jungle's Tom McFarland, former Wild Beasts frontman Hayden Thorpe, and Goddard's Hot Chip bandmates Alexis Taylor and Al Doyle.

Alongside the album announcement, Goddard has shared the album's opening track, "Moments Die." An electronic pop duet, the song contains vocals from Barrie, who Goddard met after working on a remix of a song she was featured on and falling in love with her voice.

"My new single 'Moments Die' features a beautiful vocal contribution from my friend Barrie which for me is a highlight of my forthcoming album," Goddard said in a statement. "My words were inspired by John Berger’s book And Our Faces, My Heart, Brief as Photos."

Listen and watch the accompanying music video, directed by Nathan Castiel and shot in both New York and Hastings, below.

Article continues below advertisement

Goddard said that the album's creation was inspired by "this idea of trying to divorce your conscious mind from the music-making process – not trying to force meaning on the music or your collaborators, allowing that process to be very empathetic.”

"With all the different people on this record, I've been working on how to respect the contribution they make and not trying to be the one who has to lead everything," he added. "That follows through into the songs where I'm singing. I tried to write words without having too much of an idea of what I’m trying to express, where I’m just writing a stream of consciousness."

"Part of the reason why I wanted to call this Harmonics is that I was trying to create something very inclusive and empathetic, something harmonious. There’s a lot of aggressive division in the world, and I wanted this to be loving, romantic – and fun."

Article continues below advertisement

The newly announced Harmonics will also included the previously released house single "New World (Flow)," a collaboration with singer-songwriter and visual artist Fiorious.

"When I wrote the chords for this song, I was aiming for something with the power of a hymn," Goddard explained. "Without discussing this concept, Fiorious added words that have a kind of atheistic spiritual quality that I always love in house music."

"I connected to the track instantly and loved how it moved from an interior moment in the verse to an explosive climax in the chorus," Fiorious added. "The lyrics took their cue from that feeling, the idea of getting out of your own way and surrendering, and so it became this meditation on fearlessness. From there, I started arranging my vocals as a huge choir of me, and it all came together very quickly."

Article continues below advertisement

"Part of the reason why I wanted to call this Harmonics is that I was trying to create something very inclusive," Goddard explained.

Never miss a story — sign up for the Q newsletter for the latest music news on all your favorite artists, all in one place.


1. Moments Die featuring Barrie

2. Progress featuring Ibibio Sound Machine

3. Destiny featuring Findia

4. New World (Flow) featuring Fiorious

5. When Love’s Out Of Fashion featuring Oranje

6. Follow You

7. On My Mind

8. Summon featuring Hayden Thorpe

9. When You Call featuring Findia

10. Out At Night

11. Mountains featuring Alexis Taylor and Al Doyle

12. Ghosts featuring Tom McFarland

13. Miles Away featuring Falle Nioke

14. Revery featuring Alabaster DePlume

Harmonics is out July 12 via Domino. You can pre-order it here.


Subscribe to our newsletter

your info will be used in accordance with our privacy policy

Read More