Q Magazine

Idles Unleash European and North American Tour Dates to Support 2024 Album 'Tangk'

The Bristol group also unveiled a video for the album's first single, "Dancer."

Source: © Tom Ham
Link to FacebookShare to XShare to Email

Bristol rockers Idles will be stomping around Europe and North America for their "Love Is The Fing Tour 2024," in support of upcoming album Tangk. With confirmed dates set, the quintet — vocalist Joe Talbot, bassist Adam Devonshire, lead guitarist Mark Bowen, drummer Jon Beavis and rhythm guitarist Lee Kiernan — also showcased some dance moves in the newly released video for first single, "Dancer."

Article continues below advertisement
Source: ℗ © IDELS / YouTube

IDLES - DANCER (Official Video)

Explaining the album's unusual title, in a way, Idles wrote on the group's website: "Pronounced 'tank' with a whiff of the 'g' -- an onomatopoeic reference to the lashing way the band imagined their guitars sounding that has since grown into a sigil for living in love -- the record is the band's most ambitious and striking work yet." Co-produced with Nigel Godrich (Radiohead, Paul McCartney), IDLES guitarist Mark Bowen and Kenny Beats (Ed Sheeran, Bastille), the 11 tracks also feature LCD Soundsystem's James Murphy and Nancy Whang on "Dancer."

Article continues below advertisement
Source: © Tom Ham

Madcap truth-seekers IDLES have arrived

Formed in 2009, the band's first release was the 2012 EP Welcome, followed by 2017's debut full-length Brutalism. With the release of 2018's Joy as an Act of Resistance, Idles won the 2018 Q Award for Best Breakthrough Act, and album single "Danny Nedelko" was crowned as one of Q's Top 20 Tracks Of The Year.

Article continues below advertisement

While the pandemic placed much of Idles work to the backburner (notwithstanding 2020's Ultra Mono), the group has since collected a pair of Grammy nominations, where 2021 saw Crawler nominated for Best Rock Album and the single "Crawl!" for Best Rock Performance.

Source: © Partisan Records

IDLES "Tangk" (2024)

Article continues below advertisement

Tangk will be released February 16, 2024 on Partisan Records. You can go here and pre-order with several variants available, including colored vinyl, CD and digital download. The tracklist:

01. IDEA 01

02. Gift Horse


04. Roy

05. A Gospel

06. Dancer

07. Grace

08. Hall & Oates

09. Jungle

10. Gratitude

11. Monolith

'The Love Is The Fing Tour 2024' cities and dates, (as well as tickets) can be found on the band's website here. The tour starts on February 29 in Porto, Portugal and winds its way until the end of the year, December 7 in Manchester, UK.


Subscribe to our newsletter

your info will be used in accordance with our privacy policy

Read More