Q Magazine

MGMT Locks In a February 23 Release Date for 'Loss of Life,' Their First New Studio LP in Six Years

The LP will be the band's first for Michael Goldstone's Mom + Pop Records

wills q template
Source: Mom+Pop

Cover art for MGMT's new album, 'Loss of Life'

Link to FacebookShare to XShare to Email

It’s been six long years since MGMT last released a full-length studio album. Oh, sure, they’ve managed to stay busy in the interim, releasing a couple of singles (2019’s “In the Afternoon” and “As You Move Through the World”) and teaming up with The Avalanches and Johnny Marr (“The Divine Chord”) and Cola Boyy (“Kid Born in Space”), but it was way back in February 2018 when they released Little Dark Age for Columbia, and they haven’t released an album since.

That situation will finally be changing on February 23 with the emergence of Loss of Life, MGMT’s first full-length endeavor for their new label, Michael Goldstone’s Mom + Pop Records, which they share with such artists as Beach Bunny, Maya Hawke, Tom Morello, Sleater-Kinney, and Tegan and Sara.

Article continues below advertisement
wills q template
Source: Mega

MGMT performing at Eventim Apollo on December 13, 2018 in London, England

MGMT, a.k.a. Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser, co-produced the album with the assistance of Patrick Wimberly, with mixing duties resting in the capable hands of Dave Fridmann. Oh, but there is one exception on the production front: James Richardson assisted on the track “Dancing in Babylon,” which also stands apart because it features guest vocals from Christine and the Queens.

In a semi-formal statement about the impending release of Loss of Life, MGMT said, “All joking aside (never!), we are very proud of this album and the fact that it was a relatively painless birth after a lengthy gestation period, and are happy to be releasing this baby into the world with Mom+Pop. Musically speaking, we are running at around 20% adult contemporary and no more than this, please.”

In conjunction with the news about the impending album, MGMT also released a video for the first single, "Mother Nature," which you can enjoy below.

Article continues below advertisement

Behold, the full track listing for the new album, after which we here at Q invite you to dive into a playlist of MGMT's best tracks, including those collaborations we mentioned in the opening paragraph as well as the aforementioned new single.

Loss of Life Tracklist:

01. Loss of Life (part 2)

02. Mother Nature

03. Dancing in Babylon (featuring Christine and the Queens)

04. People in the Streets

05. Bubblegum Dog

06. Nothing to Declare

07. Nothing Changes

08. Phradie’s Song

09. I Wish I Was Joking

10. Loss of Life


Subscribe to our newsletter

your info will be used in accordance with our privacy policy

Read More